The Literary Sipper
The Literary Sipper
The Literary Sipper Talks Mattering
0:00
-13:14

The Literary Sipper Talks Mattering

Episode #35
a sign on the side of a building
Photo by Mika Baumeister

The feeling that we are all shouting into the void is pervasive in art making. Why does it matter? Who is even listening? Why should I even sit down and write or draw or make something from nothing?

I refer you to a one Mr. Jeff Tweedy in his wonderful book, How to Write One Song. In the very first page of the book, before he even gets to page one, chaper one. he writes:

We have a choice — to be on the side of creation, or surrender to the powers that destroy.”

I can think of no better reminder than that.

You matter. Your art matters. Now get on with it.

x A

Discussion about this podcast

The Literary Sipper
The Literary Sipper
Welcome to The Literary Sipper, a podcast about reading, writing, thinking, and parenting, all at the same time.
I am your host, Amber Vitti Hill, a writer and mother who’s always looking for ways to stay creative no matter where my busy day may take me.
Thank you for joining me especially when I know how valuable your free time is and how many other things you have to do on that never-ending to-do list. But if you’re trying to put something artistic out into the world, while also trying to manage the schedule and needs of others, you have come to the right place.